Captains Named

The Vikings have begun a new tradition by naming team captains for the season (yes they get to wear the “C” on their jerseys).  The players voted Steve Hutchinson offensive captain, E.J. Henderson defensive captain and Ryan Longwell special teams captain.  For some reason, the NFL has sent out memos ordering encouraging teams to undertake this practice rather than have game-by-game captains as the Vikings did last year.  Why exactly is this important to the league?  Is there some scheme to sell special, higher-priced jerseys with the “C” on them?  In that case, the league should’ve made the Vikes name Adrian Peterson and Jared Allen captains, since their jerseys sell more than the other guys’.

The only insight we gain from this story is that Hutch, E.J. and Longwell are popular with their teammates.  And that Brad Childress is not willing to engage in any ballot stuffing hi-jinks in order to get Tarvaris Jackson a captaincy in hopes it might spur his confidence.  And that the other guys hate Matt Birk and Darren Sharper.

Next Vikings Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov12:00Washington RedskinsBuy Tickets

Tags: Adrian Peterson Brad Childress Darren Sharper E.j. Henderson Jared Allen Matt Birk Minnesota Vikings Ryan Longwell Steve Hutchinson

comments powered by Disqus