Six to Pro Bowl

The NFL just announced this year’s Pro Bowl rosters – a somewhat pointless exercise given the number of changes that always take place by the time the game is actually played (and don’t get me started on the pointlessness of the game itself).  The Vikings, as expected, have scored a fair number of invitees – six to be exact.  And those six lucky devils are:

RB Adrian Peterson (starter)

G Steve Hutchinson (starter)

DE Jared Allen (reserve)

DT Pat Williams (reserve)

DT Kevin Williams (starter)

CB Antoine Winfield (starter)

Obviously, it’s nice to see Antoine Winfield get rewarded for not only a fantastic season but a solid career as a cornerback.  It’s also nice to see Darren Sharper and Matt Birk not make it on the basis of their (at this point) overblown reputations.  There was a bit of support around Vikingland for Chad Greenway and Ryan Longwell but clearly neither did enough to impress the people who actually decide these things (the fan vote is a farce that I’m guessing actually accounts for less than the reported 1/3).  Overall I’m satisfied.  Although I have to wonder if Allen being picked as a reserve instead of a starter isn’t a bit of punishment for some of his transgressions this year.

Next Vikings Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov12:00Washington RedskinsBuy Tickets

Tags: Adrian Peterson Antoine Winfield Chad Greenway Darren Sharper Jared Allen Kevin Williams Matt Birk Minnesota Vikings Pat Williams Ryan Longwell Steve Hutchinson

comments powered by Disqus