No Coach of the Year Love for Chilly

Mike Smith of the Falcons has been named the Coach of the Year by the Associated Press, beating Miami‘s Tony Sparano by one vote.  Smith took over Atlanta after a tumultuous 2007 season that included the incarceration of former franchise quarterback Michael Vick and the mid-year defection of coach Bobby Petrino, and led them into the playoffs with a rookie playing behind center – an accomplishment that deserves plenty of kudos.  Of course, what Sparano did was no mean feat either – he took a team that finished 1-15, installed a completely new offense with a new quarterback, and went 11-5 and won the highly competitive AFC East.  At least one voter couldn’t choose between the two coaches at all, and split his vote to give Smith 23 1/2 total and Sparano 22 1/2.  And what of Vikings head coach Brad Childress who improved the team by two games over 2007 and got them into their first playoffs since 2004?  Not a single vote.  Not even half a vote.  The only coaches who got votes besides Smith and Sparano were Jeff Fisher and Bill Belichick.  Maybe the national media also think the Vikings made it to 10-6 in spite of Chilly more than because of him?

Next Vikings Game View full schedule »
Sunday, Sep 77 Sep12:00at St. Louis RamsBuy Tickets
Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Atlanta Falcons Bill Belichick Bobby Petrino Brad Childress Jeff Fisher Miami Dolphins Michael Vick Mike Smith Minnesota Vikings Tony Sparano

  • jrayzin

    leslie frazier for vikings head coach anyone?

  • Darkover0_0

    jrayzin, damn straight.  Get rid of the dipshit, and put
    Fraiser in now.  Let’s not let what happened with dungy happen again.

  • http://BloggingDirty The Dirty Bird

    While I see your point I have to say the reason that Childress didn’t get votes is because no one cares about the Vikings in the national media. Sorry but Miami, Atlanta, and Boston are all big ass cities and have more media outlets and add Tennessee all won more games 11+ by my count. So “Chilly’s” team won 10 games and that is good but he was not the coach of the year.