Randall McDaniel is a Hall of Famer...and Cris Carter is Not

The word just came across that Randall McDaniel has been elected to the Hall-of-Fame.  And all I can say is…about effing time.  It was always absurd that McDaniel, the best left guard of his era, had to wait as long as he did to gain election…but all that can be forgotten now; McDaniel will be donning the blazer and getting his bust in Canton.  He will be joined by the late Bob Hayes, Bruce Smith, the late Derrick Thomas, Ralph Wilson and Rod Woodson.  No Cris Carter.  No John Randle either (but I think he will get in one day).  And no Shannon Sharpe, which is kind of a surprise (a bad year for big-mouthed former ball-catchers).

Randall McDaniel becomes the 8th man to be inducted to the Hall-of-Fame as a Viking, following Carl Eller, Jim Finks, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton and Ron Yary.

Next Vikings Game View full schedule »
Sunday, Sep 77 Sep12:00at St. Louis RamsBuy Tickets
Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Alan Page Bob Hayes Bruce Smith Bud Grant Carl Eller Cris Carter Derrick Thomas Fran Tarkenton Jim Finks John Randle Paul Krause Ralph Wilson Randall Mcdaniel Rod Woodson Ron Yary Shannon Sharpe

  • Art Monk

    HA HA.  Eat it loud mouthed coke-boy.

  • http://fanzak.com James

    Hey guys, check out this mock draft!


  • http://BloggingDirty The Dirty Bird

    I am amazed by the fact that the second best WR in NFL history and the second best TE in history both aren’t in the Hall of Fame.

  • http://landryhat davedallasfan

    good…..i told you guys this would happen. he blasts owens for being a distraction and a killer of teams. well, the biggest cancer of them all did’nt make it. i’d laugh my ass off if carter never made it and we all know owens will be a first time ballott pick……asshole……LA VIKINGS 2010

  • http://landryhat davedallasfan


  • Team Olkewicz

    Personally, I feel like the intention was for Carter to go in this year after a one-year wait. Then he fermented the most crybaby whine ON NATIONAL TELEVISION over not being elected last year. He basically hi-jacked a whole segment of “Inside The NFL”, completely ignoring the players who actually got in. I’ve gotta think this rubbed the voters the wrong way. So they put in Bob Hayes (a deserving Senior candidate) and pushed Carter back a few years.

  • http://landryhat davedallasfan

    thank you team olkewicz, for your thoughts on bob hayes