Update: 53-Man Roster Announced + Practice Squad


The finalized 2008 53-man roster was just released on Vikings.com (in PDF format for some screwed up reason).  Here it is all sorted by position (don’t say I don’t work hard for you) followed by the final cut list:



Tarvaris Jackson

Gus Frerotte

John David Booty

Running Back

Adrian Peterson

Chester Taylor

Maurice Hicks


Thomas Tapeh

Jeff Dugan

Naufahu Tahi


Ryan Cook

Bryant McKinnie

Marcus Johnson

Drew Radovich


Steve Hutchinson

Anthony Herrera

Artis Hicks


Matt Birk

John Sullivan

Tight End

Visanthe Shiancoe

Jim Kleinsasser

Garrett Mills

Wide Receiver

Bernard Berrian

Bobby Wade

Sidney Rice

Robert Ferguson

Aundrae Allison

Defense/Special Teams

Defensive End

Jared Allen

Ray Edwards

Brian Robison

Otis Grigsby

Defensive Tackle

Kevin Williams

Pat Williams

Fred Evans

Ellis Wyms

Letroy Guiron


E.J. Henderson

Ben Leber

Chad Greenway

Vinny Ciurciu

Erin Henderson

David Herron


Antoine Winfield

Cedric Griffin

Charles Gordon

Marcus McCauley

Benny Sapp


Darren Sharper

Madieu Williams

Tyrell Johnson

Eric Frampton

Husain Abdullah


Ryan Longwell


Chris Kluwe

Long Snapper

Cullen Loeffler

Note that, contrary to earlier reports, David Herron did indeed make the squad.  What went wrong there?  The Star-Trib guys seldom miss one of those.  Anyway, these were the final cuts:

#3 Steve Hauschka – K – Rookie – North Carolina State
#9 Brooks Bollinger – QB – 6th Year – Wisconsin
#11 Jaymar Johnson – WR – Rookie – Jackson State
#13 Nate Jones – WR – Rookie – Texas
#15 Martin Nance – WR – 1st Year – Miami (OH)
#24 Marcus Walker – CB – Rookie – Oklahoma
#32 Dee McCann – CB – 1st Year – West Virginia
#33 Brandon Sumrall – CB – Rookie – Southern Mississippi
#34 Albert Young – RB – Rookie – Iowa
#47 Braden Jones – TE – 1st Year – Southern Illinois
#55 J Leman – LB – Rookie – Illinois
#57 Rufus Alexander – LB – 1st Year – Oklahoma
#61 Martail Burnett – DE – 1st Year – Utah
#63 Brian Daniels – G – 1st Year – Colorado
#66 Chris Norwell – DE – Rookie – Illinois
#67 Dan Mozes – C – 1st Year – West Virginia
#68 Tim Mattran – C – Rookie – Stanford
#75 Chase Johnson – T – 2nd Year – Wyoming
#82 Darius Reynaud – WR – Rookie – West Virginia
#99 Leger Douzable – DT – Rookie – Central Florida

Conspicuous by his absence from either list is S Michael Boulware.  Turns out he was placed on IR.  He probably would’ve made the team ahead of Husain Abdullah.  Abdullah, Radovich and Herron must’ve been the last guys to make the team.  The cut players will have the opportunity to go on waivers and, if they remain unclaimed, return to the 8-man practice squad.

Update:  The practice squad was finalized on Sunday.  All 8 players were guys who were cut by the Vikings over the weekend:

  • DE Martail Burnett
  • G Brian Daniels
  • DT Leger Douzable
  • WR Jaymar Johnson
  • C Tim Mattran
  • WR Darius Reynaud
  • CB Marcus Walker
  • RB Albert Young