Kevin Williams Recipient of 2013 Ed Block Courage Award


Dec 1, 2013; Minneapolis, MN, USA; Minnesota Vikings defensive tackle Kevin Williams (93) looks on prior to the game against the Chicago Bears at Mall of America Field at H.H.H. Metrodome. Mandatory Credit: Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

On Wednesday, it was announced that Kevin Williams was voted by his teammates to be the recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Kevin Williams is an eleven year veteran of the National Football League who has spent the entire time with the Minnesota Vikings.  During his tenure, he has amassed some impressive statistics.  Here are some of the highlights up to this point:

Nov 24, 2013; Green Bay, WI, USA; Green Bay Packers kicker Mason Crosby (2) kicks a field goal against Minnesota Vikings defensive tackle Kevin Williams (93) and defensive tackle Letroy Guion (98) in overtime at Lambeau Field. The Packers and Vikings finished in a tie 26-26. Mandatory Credit: Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports

167 games played (most by any Vikings DT)

5 interceptions (tied NFL record for defensive lineman)

4 defensive touchdowns (tied franchise record)

456 career total tackles

59 career sacks

7 forced fumbles

13 fumble recoveries

66 passes defended

Here is how the Ed Block Courage Award is given according to the official Ed Block website:

"Each year, the Ed Block Courage Awards honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. This award is unique in that the recipients are selected solely by a vote of their teammates. Every fall all thirty two teams conduct a vote which results in each team selecting their Ed Block Courage Award recipient for the year.The Ed Block Courage Award recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength and dedication.  He is also a community role model.  With this honor, he enters into an association which contrasts his fierce profession by becoming a major component of the Courage House National Support Network for Kids. He becomes an Ambassador of Courage for victims of abuse, violence and neglect.The Ed Block Courage Award recipient will be identified as a team player in helping abused children and families in crisis.The Courage Award has become one of the most esteemed honors bestowed upon a player in the NFL, especially since the recipient is selected by his peers."

Congratulations to Kevin Williams on winning this prestigious award.