Phil Loadholt wins Minnesota Vikings Ed Block Courage Award


The Minnesota Vikings have voted and decided that the Ed Block Award for Courage would be given to offensive tackle Phil Loadholt for the 2015 season.

Phil Loadholt is a respected member of the Minnesota Vikings locker room. He has been a leader on the offensive line and supportive to teammates as well as a regular participant in charitable events. However, an injury to Loadholt’s Achilles tendon has sidelined him for the 2015 season.

Because of his hard work and commitment to the team, he was voted the recipient of the 2015 Ed Block Courage Award by his teammates according to an article on

Oct 26, 2014; Tampa, FL, USA; Minnesota Vikings tackle Phil Loadholt (71) blocks against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers during the second half at Raymond James Stadium. Minnesota Vikings defeated the Tampa Bay Buccaneers 19-13. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Ed Block award, named after the Indianapolis Colts long-time athletic trainer, is typically rewarded to one player from each NFL team who shows “commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage” on and off the field. It can also be awarded to a player who has faced great adversity recently and has battled through it to overcome their issues.

Loadholt was a second round draft pick of the Minnesota Vikings who has started 89 games at right tackle for the team. The offensive lineman was named to the 2009 All-Rookie Team and was also a major part of Adrian Peterson‘s record breaking MVP season in 2012. He joins a long list of great Ed Block Award winners from the Minnesota Vikings, including Cris Carter, John Randle, and Randall Cunningham.

Congratulations go out to Phil Loadholt for winning this award. It shows how important he is to his coaches and teammates in the Minnesota Vikings organization.