Team captains named for Minnesota Vikings 2016 NFL season


The Minnesota Vikings have named the players from their roster who will represent the team as captains during the 2016 NFL season.

Being named a team captain of the Minnesota Vikings is a big deal for many reasons. Not only does the honor mean that a player is regarded as good player on the field, but it means that the individual is well-respected inside the organization.

Last year, this honor went to quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, running back Adrian Peterson, defensive end Everson Griffen, and linebacker Chad Greenway. However, with the injury to Teddy Bridgewater, there was bound to be at least one new face in the group.

Here are the team captains for the Minnesota Vikings during the 2016 season:

Chad Greenway

It is only fitting that Greenway wear a captain patch for the 2016 season. He’s been constantly voted to this position by his teammates and represents the hard-working players who let their game do the talking. With Greenway retiring, this could be the very last time he gets to wear that patch for the Minnesota Vikings.

Everson Griffen

Griffen is a little goofy, but he’s quickly becoming a player that opposing teams make sure to watch for. He has absolutely no filter when it comes to saying what is on his mind, but can harness that ability to motivate every player around him and add energy with a dash of excitement to every huddle.

Adrian Peterson

The sole offensive member of team to be named a captain, there was little doubt Adrian would get the nod. As an important part of the franchise’s plan to attack opposing defenses, the 10 year veteran will be the vocal leader of the group, no matter who the quarterback handing him the ball may be.

Brian Robison

While some fans were surprised to see Robison voted as a captain instead of Harrison Smith, there are some great reasons the defensive end will be wearing the patch. He’s always been quick to help young players develop while setting expectations high concerning effort for himself and everyone around him.

The team announced the Minnesota Vikings team captains on social media, sharing a picture of the four together. Here is that post from Twitter:

Next: Vikings game-by-game 2016 season preview

Congratulations to Everson Griffen, Chad Greenway, Adrian Peterson, and Brian Robison on the huge honor of being named Minnesota Vikings team captains. There is no doubt that these individuals will represent the squad well during the 2016 NFL season.