Former Minnesota Vikings great investing in a new pro football league

(Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images) Jared Allen
(Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images) Jared Allen /

Now retired, former Minnesota Vikings pass-rusher Jared Allen is among those investing in a new pro football league known as the Alliance of American Football.

This is not the case for everyone, but there was certainly a bit of intrigue when Vince McMahon announced the return of the XFL back in January. However, the league is not expected to have actual games being played until 2020.

McMahon may have to move that start date to something a little sooner because now he has a competitor to deal with.

On Tuesday, the formation of a new professional football league known as the Alliance of American Football was announced. Leading the way for this new league is Charlie Ebersol, son of NBC Sports executive Dick Ebersol.

Ironically enough, Charlie Ebersol is actually the same guy who directed the popular ESPN documentary “This Was the XFL” that premiered in 2016.

Minnesota Vikings
Minnesota Vikings /

Minnesota Vikings

Ebersol is getting a bunch of help with this new league from from NFL players and executives including Bill Polian, Troy Polamalu, Justin Tuck, Hines Ward, and former Minnesota Vikings defensive end Jared Allen.

Allen’s role with the league is nothing more than an investor at this point in time. No word yet on if he will be allowed to start each game with his “calf-roping” celebration at mid-field.

One thing the league has going for it is the fact that it already has a television contract with CBS. The inaugural game and the league’s championship will air nationally on CBS while CBS Sports Network will broadcast one matchup per week during the regular season.

Among some of the unique aspects of the league that Ebersol hopes will attract fans includes having no TV timeouts, no kickoffs, no onside kicks, and allowing teams to only go for a two-point conversion after each touchdown.

Next: 5 current Vikings that could be gone by next season

The eight-team league is expected to launch in February of 2019.