Ranking all the Minnesota Vikings in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

(Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images)
(Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images) /
7 of 24
minnesota vikings
(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images) /

17. Warren Moon

  • Position: Quarterback
  • Years with Vikings: 1994–1996
  • Years in the NFL: 1984-2000
  • Other teams associated with: Houston Oilers, Seattle Seahawks, Kansas City Chiefs
  • Enshrinement year: 2006

Out of high school, Warren Moon didn’t get the attention of big football schools. After shattering nearly every school record for a quarterback at West Los Angeles College, Moon found himself getting the attention of the University of Washington. At Washington, he was named the MVP of the 1978 Rose Bowl, getting him a little more of the spotlight.

Still, he went undrafted when he attempted to join the NFL. Still needing to prove himself, Moon went to the CFL, where he joined the Edmonton Eskimos. The quarterback dominated the competition there, with his team winning the Grey Cup 5 times and being the Grey Cup MVP twice.

Finally, NFL teams were ready to take a look at Moon. The Houston Oilers won the bidding war, and they got a player who would eventually become a 9-time Pro Bowl player who led the league in passing yards twice and was the NEA MVP in 2000.

Moon was a member of the Minnesota Vikings for only three seasons, where he led the team to a 21-18 record, throwing for a total of 10,102 yards and 58 touchdowns. Sadly, his time with the team ended when he broke his collarbone and lost the job to Brad Johnson.