Minnesota Vikings: 8 career records that will never be broken

(Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images) Adrian Peterson
(Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images) Adrian Peterson /
1 of 5
(Photo by Stephen Dunn/Allsport) John Randle
(Photo by Stephen Dunn/Allsport) John Randle /

There have been some great careers in the history of the Minnesota Vikings. Here are eight franchise record holders whose mark will never be broken.

Mike Zimmer is the ninth coach in the Minnesota Vikings 58 years. This past season he moved into fourth place with 80 regular-season wins, passing Brad Childress who led the Vikings to 74 wins in just under five seasons.

If Zimmer has any thoughts of reaching the 158 wins that franchise leader Bud Grant amassed over 19 seasons, he will need to maintain his current pace for another 12 seasons—an unlikely scenario.

The Vikings’ second most successful coach is Dennis Green, who averaged more wins per season than any other coach at 9.7, yet lasted only 10 seasons with Minnesota, the second-longest tenure in team history.

The mark set by Grant seems like an unbreakable record, especially in this age of the NFL, where coaches change jobs frequently. Currently among active head coaches, Bill Belichick leads the pack with 24 seasons, 19 of them with the New England Patriots. The next closest current head coach with the most seasons with the same team is Mike Tomlin who has spent the last 12 years coaching the Pittsburgh Steelers.

It certainly looks like Grant’s 158 regular-season wins are an unbreakable record for the Vikings.
Here’s a look at eight other Minnesota franchise records that will never be broken.