Is a Minnesota Vikings fan the Fan of the Year?


Is a Minnesota Vikings fan the best sports fan in the country? Prove it! FanSided is searching for our Fan of the Year and we’re giving away awesome prizes.

Imagine Lou Gehrig giving his farewell speech to a vacant Yankee Stadium or Michael Jordan hitting “The Shot” in front of empty seats. Without the fans, there is no roar, there is no electricity, there is no glory.

We’re all fans of something. Here at FanSided, that fan spirit is what brings us to work every day, working to connect and your fan communities with the stories that get you excited. Fandom is what binds us all together that is why we’re excited to present the fifth annual FanSided Fan of the Year contest.

What qualifies someone to be the FanSided Sports Fan of the Year? The FanSided Sports Fan of the Year is a person who exemplifies dedication, integrity and “Fansmanship” all for the love of the game.

What is “Fansmanship? Just as athletes exhibit and strive for good sportsmanship, fans strive to exhibit good Fansmanship. Good Fansmanship means representing the teams you follow and the communities those teams represent in a positive way at all times thus perpetuating all that is good about sports and sports fandom.

To enter, submit a 200-word essay or two-minute video to FanSided at before submissions close at midnight on Oct. 21. In your submission, tell us what you are a fan of and what makes you different, more passionate and more devoted than all of the other fanatics out there.

Five finalists will then be selected, each receiving a feature on, a $100 gift card to Fanatics, a $100 gift certificate to the FanSided swag shop and a one-year subscription to Fubo.TV. A grand-prize winner will be selected on Nov. 13, receiving a $2,500 gift certificate to StubHub to make sure they can be there in person to cheer on their favorite team’s biggest moments.

Every fan has a story. We want to hear yours.

See here for a full copy of the contest rules and restrictions.

2018 Winner

Randi Radcliffe

| Los Angeles, CA

Randi Radcliffe bleeds Dodger blue and was named the fourth annual FanSided Fan of the Year

2017 Winner

Larry Lien

| Minneapolis, MN

Minnesota Lynx fan Larry Lien was named the third annual FanSided Fan of the Year.

2016 Winner

Dave Edlund

| San Francisco, CA

San Francisco Giants fan Dave Edlund was named the second annual FanSided Fan of the Year.

2015 Winner

Dennis Gleason

| Buffalo, NY

Buffalo Bills fan Dennis Gleason was named the first annual FanSided Fan of the Year.

Read. View the 2018 Finalists. light