10 reasons why the Minnesota Vikings can win Super Bowl 54

(Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)
(Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images) /
6 of 11
(Photo by Adam Bettcher/Getty Images) Kevin Stefanski
(Photo by Adam Bettcher/Getty Images) Kevin Stefanski /

The right guys are leading Minnesota’s offense

After a successful stint as the Vikings’ offensive coordinator in 2017, Pat Shurmer unsurprisingly left to become the new head coach of the New York Giants.

As Shurmer’s replacement, Minnesota brought in former Philadelphia Eagles quarterbacks coach John DeFilippo and the thought was that he would just have the offense continue to run a similar system to what they did in 2017.

However, the DeFilippo experiment was a colossal flop and he didn’t even last on the Vikings’ staff for an entire season. Minnesota head coach Mike Zimmer admitted after 2018 that he and the rest of the team’s front office could have done a better job at understanding exactly what they were getting with DeFilippo.

So to avoid making the same mistake twice, Zimmer and the Vikings made sure to bring in one of the most respected offensive minds to ever coach in the NFL. In addition to giving Kevin Stefanski his very first opportunity to be a full-time offensive coordinator, Minnesota hired former Denver Broncos head coach Gary Kubiak to come in and be an offensive advisor.

Having Stefanski and Kubiak running the offense this season has proved to be a very good decision and it’s a big reason why the Vikings are currently 8-3.

Minnesota’s offensive coaching duo has transformed the team’s rushing attack back into one of the league’s best, implemented more concepts that better suit Kirk Cousins’ strengths, and found ways to adjust on the fly based on what challenges the Vikings’ opponents have presented each week.

Minnesota would certainly not have eight wins at this point in the year if not for Stefanski and Kubiak running the offense and their leadership is something that could potentially propel the team into the Super Bowl.