Vikings reveal who is wearing No. 8 after Kirk Cousins departure

Minnesota Vikings No. 8
Minnesota Vikings No. 8 / David Berding/GettyImages

During their history, certain jersey numbers have become attached to specific current and former Minnesota Vikings players. Some former Vikings players, like Fran Tarkenton, Alan Page, and Cris Carter, have even been lucky enough to have their jersey numbers retired by the franchise.

But with NFL teams now having roster sizes that go up to 90 members during the offseason, it's difficult for some of these notable numbers to not be recycled and assigned to new players.

This year, someone not named Kirk Cousins will be wearing the No. 8 on their jersey for Minnesota for the first time since Sam Bradford in 2017. On Tuesday, the Vikings officially revealed who is currently wearing Cousins' old number on their jersey.

Minnesota Vikings announce jersey numbers for new players on 2024 roster

Following this year's NFL Draft, there was plenty of speculation about which number new quarterback J.J. McCarthy will wear on his Minnesota jersey. Whether the Vikings were okay with it or not, McCarthy actually ended up revealing the news himself that he will be wearing the No. 9 jersey next season, just as he did during his college career at Michigan.

In addition to the rookie quarterback's number, we also found out on Tuesday which jersey numbers Minnesota's entire 2024 rookie class will be wearing next season.

While we already know that McCarthy will be wearing the No. 9 for the Vikings in 2024, we now know that Dallas Turner will wear No. 15, Khyree Jackson will wear No. 31, Will Reichard will wear No. 46, Levi Drake Rodriguez will wear No. 50, Michael Jurgens will wear No. 65, and Walter Rouse will wear No. 78.

As for who is wearing the No. 8 jersey for Minnesota following the departure of Cousins earlier this year, that number now belongs to wide receiver Trishton Jackson.

Last season, Jackson wore the No. 9, but he clearly agreed to give that jersey number to McCarthy and switch to No. 8.

In addition to Cousins' old jersey number being given to a wide receiver, Danielle Hunter's No. 99 will now be worn by defensive lineman Jerry Tillery, K.J. Osborn's No. 17 will be worn by punter Ryan Wright, and Alexander Mattison's No. 2 will be worn by linebacker Brian Asamoah.

More Vikings News and Analysis