Who did the Vikings give Adam Thielen's No. 19 jersey to?

Carolina Panthers wide receiver Adam Thielen
Carolina Panthers wide receiver Adam Thielen / Mitchell Leff/GettyImages

For the first time since 2012, someone other than Adam Thielen will be wearing the No. 19 on their jersey for the Minnesota Vikings.

In Minnesota Vikings history, there are certain jersey numbers that generate the thoughts of a specific player when they are brought up. 84 for Randy Moss, 10 for Fran Tarkenton, 80 for Cris Carter, 93 for John Randle, and so on.

Given how long his tenure was with the franchise, the No. 19 jersey is certainly something that most Vikings fans will forever associate with wide receiver Adam Thielen.

But Thielen is now a member of the Carolina Panthers, and for the first time since the 2012 season, a different Minnesota player has been assigned the No. 19 on their jersey.

With Adam Thielen now with the Carolina Panthers, who is wearing the No. 19 jersey for the Minnesota Vikings?

This player could end up changing his jersey number when more become available after Minnesota selects their final 2023 roster, but for now, wide receiver Brandon Powell currently has the No. 19 next to his name in the Vikings' locker room.

Powell was signed by Minnesota in free agency earlier this offseason. Prior to joining the Vikings this year, the veteran wide receiver spent his last two seasons in the NFL as a member of the Los Angeles Rams.

Before his time with the Rams, Powell also had brief stints with the Miami Dolphins, Buffalo Bills, Atlanta Falcons, and Detroit Lions. Minnesota signed him to improve their receiver depth, but he is also expected to compete for the team's punt returner job this summer.

If Powell keeps Thielen's old jersey number when the regular season begins, he will become the 10th player in Vikings history to appear in a regular-season game with the No. 19 on his jersey.

In addition to Thielen, some of the previous players to wear the No. 19 jersey for Minnesota includes Bobby Wade, Troy Williamson, and Devin Aromashodu.