Great Vikings Center Mick Tingelhoff Elected to Hall of Fame


Nebraska Cornhuskers center Henry Michael Tingelhoff was signed by the Vikings as a free agent in 1962 and would spend the next 17 years in purple, starting 240 consecutive games.

More from Minnesota Vikings News

During that span he would be selected to six Pro Bowls and be named AP first-team All-Pro 5 times.

He would also play for one NFL championship team and four Super Bowl teams.

His #53 would go on to be retired by the Vikings and his name would be placed in the Vikings’ Ring of Honor.

Today, Mick Tingelhoff was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Tingelhoff enters the hall alongside fellow 2015 inductees Charles Haley, the late Junior Seau, Tim Brown, Will Shields, Jerome Bettis, Bill Polian and Ron Wolf.

It was Tingelhoff’s 32nd year of eligibility. But who the hell is counting?

The great center joins former Vikings players Ron Yary, Jerry Krause, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton, Carl Eller, Gary Zimmerman, Chris Doleman, Cris Carter, Randall McDaniel and John Randle in the Hall at Canton. Coach Bud Grant and executive Jim Finks are also enshrined.

The Vikings are now one guard short of having a full offensive line in the Hall of Fame. Something to shoot for Brandon Fusco.

Congrats to Mick Tingelhoff, who had to wait too long for this day. But better late than never.

More from The Viking Age