Vikings Minnesota Football Honors Awards Winners


It’s always great to hear about members of the Minnesota Vikings when they win awards.  When Vikings rookie quarterback Teddy Bridgewater was named Pepsi Rookie of the Year, it reassured fans that people were starting to take notice of the franchise and that things seem to be moving in the right direction.

Not all awards are as public as the MVP and Rookie of the Year awards though.  Sometimes, it is the local awards that are just as important as the major ones.  The awards that talk about contributions to charity and to local communities should be looked at in a similar fashion to those that are won because of the efforts on the football field.  And those are some of the awards that are given out at the Minnesota Football Honors Awards.

Here is the description of the Minnesota Football Honors Awards from the official site of the Minnesota Vikings:

"“The banquet is led by the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame and is presented by the Vikings as a way to recognize football players who have excelled athletically, academically and in exemplifying great character in their communities, as well as coaches and other contributors.”"

While other teams and organizations won awards at this event (and those recipients can be found on the Vikings website), here is the list of individuals from the Minnesota Vikings who walked away with awards presented by the team’s general manager Rick Spielman:

Dec 21, 2014; Miami Gardens, FL, USA; Minnesota Vikings quarterback Teddy Bridgewater (5) runs off the field after losing to the Miami Dolphins at Sun Life Stadium. The Dolphins won 37-35. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Teddy Bridgewater

  • Vikings Children’s Fund Rookie of the Year
  • Offensive Player of the Year

Everson Griffen

  • Defensive Player of the Year

Andrew Sendejo

  • Special Teams Player of the Year

Chad Greenway

  • Community Man of the Year

Congratulations go out to Teddy Bridgewater, Everson Griffen, Andrew Sendejo, Chad Greenway, Rick Spielman, and the rest of the Minnesota Vikings organization on these awards.  Plus, extra thanks go out to Bridgewater and Greenway for their great work in the community and with charitable organizations.  It’s always great to see players giving back in any way they can to those in need.

Next: Minnesota Vikings 2015 Game By Game Previews

More from The Viking Age