5 biggest takeaways from the Vikings win over the Lions in Week 17

(Photo by Tim Fuller-USA TODAY Sports) Ameer Abdullah
(Photo by Tim Fuller-USA TODAY Sports) Ameer Abdullah /
6 of 6
Minnesota Vikings
(Photo by Rey Del Rio/Getty Images) Justin Jefferson /

Jefferson should win Offensive Rookie of the Year, but he won’t.

The Vikings seemingly hit the jackpot with Justin Jefferson. The young wide receiver broke franchise records and even an NFL record for receiving yards for a rookie. The future is looking very bright for the former LSU standout.

Jefferson finished off the 2020 season by catching nine passes for 133 yards, bringing him to 1.400 yards on the season and cementing his place in history. However, he still won’t win the Offensive Rookie of the Year award, even though he should.

In a league with so much quarterback bias, there isn’t much Jefferson could do to beat out Los Angeles Chargers rookie quarterback Justin Herbert for the honor. This season, Herbert threw for over 4,000 yards and 30 touchdowns in 15 games played.

A wide receiver has only won the Offensive Rookie of the Year award once in the last 10 years. In fact,  a receiver has won the award just nine times since 1967.

But there is always the chance Jefferson could join Percy Harvin, Randy Moss, and Sammy White as the only Vikings receivers to bring home the award.