Minnesota Vikings name Minnesota Football Honors winners


The Minnesota Vikings held their annual Minnesota Football Honors banquet and gave out awards to some of the team’s standouts on and off the field.

On Sunday, April 17, 2016 the Minnesota Vikings held their award banquet to give out awards to players who went above and beyond during the 2015 NFL season. The event, called Minnesota Football Honors, gave out 5 awards to players who showed excellent ability.

Here is a list of the players who were honored at the Minnesota Football Honors banquet according to Vikings.com:

  • Adrian Peterson – Offensive Player of the Year
  • Linval Joseph – Defensive Player of the Year
  • Adam Thielen – Special Teams Player of the Year
  • Stefon Diggs – Vikings Children’s Fund Rookie of the Year
  • Chad Greenway – Vikings Community Man of the Year

Check out this great photograph of Stefon Diggs as shared on the Minnesota Vikings twitter account:

Chad Greenway is a regular recipient of awards at the Minnesota Football Honors, but that doesn’t mean that the appreciation for recognition is lost on him. While being praised for football is a wonderful thing, doing great things for the community can be even more rewarding.

"“It’s obviously a great honor. We have so many great guys in this community and on our football team,” Greenway said. “I think the Vikings do a great job of really giving a lot of guys the opportunity to have community outreach, whether it’s something they’re passionate about from their history or in their family, or whether they just get involved in another guy’s charity, so it’s obviously an honor any time you can get an award like this.”"

More from The Viking Age

Defensive end Linval Joseph gave credit to his teammates for his award, knowing that he’s part of a unit that depends on others to be successful.

"“Without the team, I wouldn’t have gotten this award. The linebackers doing their jobs, the defensive ends doing their job. I’m just glad and honored,” Joseph said."

Special teams expert and wide receiver Adam Thielen knows the competition he faced for winning his award, showing some modesty in accepting the honor.

"“There’s a lot of good, talented special teamers on our team, so to get this award is pretty cool, definitely an honor,” Thielen said."

Next: Minnesota Vikings 7 round mock draft

Congratulations to all the award winners and best of luck to them during the 2016 NFL season, as the Minnesota Vikings will look to repeat as NFC North champions and make some noise in the NFL playoffs under head coach Mike Zimmer.